Rest in Peace, Papa G.

The Baths British Virgin Islands

The Baths, British Virgin Islands (from Google Maps)

Mama was such a pretty thing. Born Dorothy (of the Stones of Bath), but Papa G. always called her Dolly. The perfect wife, he often said: a willing bed-mate—she gave him seventeen of us little-uns; Peter’s the eldest, I’m the youngest; supportive, encouraging, she made him smile no matter the calamity. She had only one fault: she wasn’t the best of cooks. Indeed, I once overheard her friend refer to her rock-cakes as ‘Dentists Delights’. But you can see for yourself, our teeth litter the shore.

It was her cooking did for Papa G. Died of severe indigestion. It’s his head over there, left where fallen. Rest in peace, Papa G.


Written for What Pegman Saw.

About crispina kemp

Spinner of Mythic Tales
This entry was posted in Mostly Micro and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Rest in Peace, Papa G.

    • crimsonprose says:

      I thank you, Tina. Alas to say, it was inspired by my mother’s cooking (concrete and rock-cakes: Dentist Delights!) 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ha ha! Although I can’t talk. I think concrete might be a step up from my last baking attempt 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • crimsonprose says:

        The concrete originates in my early childhood. My mother baked what I later discovered was supposed to be ‘Norfolk Shortcake’. In it’s true form its a barely-risen more of a pastry than a cake, but soft, with body, and liberally dosed with dried fruits and sugar, then crisscrosed and egg-glazed before popped in the oven. But not when my mother made it. She didn’t use egg, nor any other raising agent; she used lard and margarine mix; of dried fruit she used only currants, and she was extremely stingy with the sugar. She glazed it with milk, crisscrossed and popped in the oven. Well, to my young eyes, those crisscrosses, and the currants just showing, looked just like the concrete around our sheds. And of course, it was as hard as … and the name stuck.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Great fun, fortunately my mother’s cooking was good 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dale says:

    This was a great take on the prompt, Crispina!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ” A willing bed-mate,” hmm, have to remember that term if ever the need arises.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wonderful story- believable too! Dentist’s delight notwithstanding. 🦷 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. k rawson says:

    Marvelous. I love the voice. Imaginative take on the prompt Crispina!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joy Pixley says:

    What a fantastical (and fantastic) take on this funny image that you found! “Dorothy, of the Stones of Bath”, I love it! Now all we need is a family photo of all those little baby stones. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.