Summer . . . Fruits!

First of August . . . a country walk  . . . and I’m amazed at the fruits: how early, how abundant . . . .

Cherry Plums

Cherry-Plums (aka mirabella), only fruit in very hot summers . . .

Cherry-Plums en masse

. . . which probably explains why I came upon a lane lined with these golden fruits: nobody was aware they were there, so they remained unpicked. They taste divine, like a good English plum should, though they’re only the size of a cherry

Blackthorn Sloe

This wonderfully blue sloe is the fruit of the blackthorn (whose blossoms turn our hedgerows white in early spring). Not to be eaten. Not poisonous, just impossibly tart

Haws

I don’t think I’ve ever seen the hawthorn bear its haws so early. I’m guessing the birds will soon strip them.

About crimsonprose

After years as a multi-colour octopus in entertainment, now chilling and writing
This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Summer . . . Fruits!

  1. Judy says:

    My fav is that blue berry thing!!

    • crimsonprose says:

      Although I posted this yesterday, using photos taken, as said, on 1st August, I’ve just returned from another walk with something like 100 real good closeups of both the cherry-plums and the blue sloes . . . not to mention elderberries so heavy they’re hanging their heads. And . . . . it’s a rich harvest this year. Folk lore would say that bodes ill for winter, nature providing the hard month ahead. I say it’s global warming. Fungi are out in force too. Warm and wet weather . . . .

  2. Joy Pixley says:

    The trees filled with fruit look so lovely! Even the ones too tart to eat. Here I am eating fresh strawberries as I read it — yum!

    • crimsonprose says:

      Our strawberries are over now. But these cherry-plums, I’ve been munching them all day while walking. In all my years I’ve never seen them; now they’re everywhere! Took a whole load more photos of them today from a neighbouring village. Well worth the walk!

      • Joy Pixley says:

        I don’t think I’ve ever had cherry-plums, but I love both cherries and plums, so they sound delicious! Especially pulled fresh off the tree. My seasonal guide for southern CA says that cherries aren’t in season anymore, but you wouldn’t know it from the offerings at the grocer’s. Strawberries will be in season until October, in theory, but right now they’re perfectly ripe and sweet. I can get three pints of organic strawberries at my local farmer’s market for $6, which is a steal around here. Now, what to do as a single person with three pints of strawberries? Funny how I never have a problem with that.

      • crimsonprose says:

        I used to live right next to a strawberry field. The farmer gave us permission to pick over it once the official pickers were done. By the time I moved from there I couldn’t look at another strawberry. Though I have recovered from that abundance.
        Most of our soft fruits are over now. We’re still able to get English cherries, but probably not for much longer. And the English plums were available for less than a month, and now are no more. We get loads of Mediterranean imports but they’re picked before ripe and shipped chilled if not actually frozen, their ripening held back by a gaseous environment. No, they don’t taste anything like our locally grown . . . especially when you can pick them straight from the tree!

      • Joy Pixley says:

        That what was it was like when I lived in Michigan: a fairly short harvest, but so abundant! Now I’m completely spoiled living in southern California. There’s such variety to the microclimates here that it seems that almost anything is in season somewhere close by at any given time, at least from about May to October.

      • crimsonprose says:

        Lo! The real Garden of Eden has been found! Your are lucky. Nothing beats fresh produce. I still miss my father’s garden. Though at least the local supermarket does sell locally produced fruit & veg . . . as well as the stuff that comes from wherever.

      • Joy Pixley says:

        It really does feel like the Garden of Eden here (although it costs as much as Paradise would, too). We get a lot of locally and regionally grown produce in our grocery stores, plus local and organic at the farmer’s market (which luckily is both within walking distance and is open on Saturdays, hooray!). But we also get a lot of produce from Mexico (at a half day’s drive away, it’s closer than most of California), so whenever the president starts complaining about trade relations, we get *very* worried.

      • crimsonprose says:

        Yea, I can imagine there are Brits, too, wondering about those out-of-season Spanish imports that will stop if/when we finally leave EU, and for which we currently pay more for than those not part of the ‘Exclusive’ Union. And if they want imports, Egypt and South Africa are usually cheaper. Swing and roundabout. But I still prefer locally grown.

      • Joy Pixley says:

        Good point, Brexit is going to have major impacts on those imports. I prefer locally grown if I can get it, but sometimes it’s actually more sustainable to grow the foods in more hospitable (e.g., wetter) climates and ship them here.

      • crimsonprose says:

        Well, no matter what happens, I don’t see us going without year-round fruit. Like I said, it’s cheaper to import from sources outside of Europe, so it could be advantage

Leave a Reply

