The Bug with the Bulging Thighs

Swollen-thighed Beetle

It’s taken me a week to find the name of this bug. And, lo! it’s so descriptive:

  • Swollen-thighed Beetle (Oedemera nobilis)

Apparently, this is the male of the species—the female sports more slender, typically beetle, thighs.

I don’t know what the smaller bug in the photo might be.

Photo taken 9th July 2017, on banks of Breydon Water, Norfolk, UK. 

About crimsonprose

After years as a multi-colour octopus in entertainment, now chilling and writing
This entry was posted in On The Door, Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Bug with the Bulging Thighs

  1. Brian Bixby says:

    I was feeling like this after eating a plate of whole fried clams lately. 🙂

    • crimsonprose says:

      Sorry for delay in moderating this; I’ve just got in from yesterday’s walk. No, it didn’t last that long, I didn’t end up in hospital. I postponed it due to lack of sleep the night before.
      So, yea, the big-thighed bug. I hadn’t gone out to take photos of the ugly bug’s ball, yet found myself clicking like crazy and getting some real hum-dingers of butterflies . . .but those I’m reserving for late in the season, while I’ll put them all together as ‘My Butterfly Collection’. Bet you can’t wait, can you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

