A Sense of Place?

A sense of place? No, rather I’d say this photo shows a typical British weathery-sense.

SS Martin and Mary, Shotesham

The churches of SS Martin and Mary at Shotesham, barely visible behind the trees. But that’s okay: it’s the sky is the feature here. (Photo taken midday Monday 12th June 2017)

About crimsonprose

After years as a multi-colour octopus in entertainment, now chilling and writing
This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Sense of Place?

  1. Judy says:

    It is a nice shot on a few levels. The church looks mysterious visible over the trees as if it could be a castle. The braided textures if the fields in the foreground are interesting with their thickness and parallel arrangement. And the ominous sky abive it all. It is a nice scene. Very lush too.

    • crimsonprose says:

      I had the shot on slideshow, and every time it came around it kinda stirred me. So I had to share it. Glad you like. I think what strikes me most of it is the tonal values, and that soft blue that seems to permeate everything. Almost monochromatic

      • Brian Bixby says:

        Did you use a filter, or is it just an artifact that the picture looks different in the post and as the header? Because they have different tones in my browser.

      • crimsonprose says:

        No filter. The only editing was to crop, slightly, and to tweak the contrast. Overcast days are not particularly bright! Only the one version uploaded, thus it’s the effect of wp. 🙂

      • Brian Bixby says:

        OK, I was more curious than accusatory. I recall a absolutely wonderful picture I had from New Zealand in ’91 that looked so great . . . and then I had it blown up from a 4×6 to a 5×7, and the photo processing for the larger print produced a much less satisfactory picture. 😦

      • crimsonprose says:

        Yep, enlarging a print can do that. And I didn’t think you were accusing me of anything. In these days of Photoshop very few photos remain as they are straight from the camera. There’s so much potential to ‘improve’ or to totally changed. However, I do try to keep as close to nature as I can. I will sharpen the contrast, cos UK weather is so often dull, and that doesn’t make for good photos,. But other than that . . . . I’m a purist. Except when I’m playing with the psychedelics! 🙂

Leave a Reply

