Passionate About Pylons

Second to plants, this is my other passion . . .

PylonsPhoto taken 31st May 2017, between Forncett St Mary and Hapton, Norfolk

About crimsonprose

After years as a multi-colour octopus in entertainment, now chilling and writing
This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Passionate About Pylons

  1. Judy says:

    I like pylons too…find them interesting. I sort of remember in seeing the Stephen King movie The Langoliers, that there were these ominous pylons marching along…animated. Vague memory.

    • crimsonprose says:

      I always think of them as ‘marching’, especially where I took this shot. They crest the hill and stride away into the valley. It had been a good day all round (see previous post for damselflies . . . at last! which I snuck into that post rather than to wait for a more appropriate place.)

      • Brian Bixby says:

        You people have perverse tastes. 😉

        Oh, I admit to a sort of admiration for pylons as an engineering marvel, and useful in finding your way in the wilderness. But I too often see them in places I wish had remained wilderness. (We’ll skip over how without them the Northeastern United States would NEVER have enough electrical power.)

      • crimsonprose says:

        Perhaps I’d feel that way too, if encountered out in wilderness. But Norfolk has no wilderness to speak of. So what’s the appeal to us weirdos? For me its that strength of line. There’s a grace to it. And the proportions. Here is Man’s neatly managed environment (i.e. farmland) being dwarfed to nothingness by these enormous giants. Scale, I think that’s what I’m trying to say, And contrast. Pylons in a built-up area would not have equal impact.

      • Brian Bixby says:

        There’s truth in that; one can imagine pylons marching across the landscape like giants!

        And happy birthday!

      • crimsonprose says:

        I thank you, I thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

