Too High, Too Low, Across the Water, Amid the Nettles

When you can’t get close-in, the only thing to do is to ‘zoom’ and ‘crop’. The resolution remains, but the picture goes small. Some of these barely measure 5″ square.

Silver Birch Bud

Leaf bud on a young silver birch, tantalizingly just out of reach

Wild Plum blossom

This Wild Plum Blossom was not only stranded in a bed of nettles beyond a water-filled ditch, but the wind was whiffling it too.

Wild Plum Buds

Another Wild Plum tree, this one full grown and, in the shade, later in bloom; its branches were arching over the road . . . way up high!

Blue Tit

Blue Tit, annoyingly high in the branches

Bark of Silver Birch

The fascinating patterns of the Silver Birch bark . . . complete with an old ivy creeper

Bircch bark and old ivy

Silver Birch bark and age-spotted ivy

Red Dead Nettle and Speedwell

Red Dead Nettle and Speedwell

Common Daisy

Summer isn’t here till you can stand on five daisies (so goes the old country saying). 28th March . . . BST; post vernal equinox., yet not what any sane person would call summer

Witches Broom

No, not someone’s hanging basket gone wrong but Witches Broom. According to my fungi guide book, it’s the work of a parasitic gall-inducing ‘Taphrina’. Seen hanging from a high branch of a silver birch

Small Tortoiseshell

This Small Tortoiseshell isn’t so much out of reach as exceedingly camera shy. And I notice this one is carrying a bug on its wing.

Bramble Briar

This beastie of a Bramble Briar caught my eye, all erect and proud (usually brambles are scramblers)

Red Currant flowers

The problem with tiny flowers is it doesn’t take much to set them in motion and blur the shot. This, of Red Currant flowers, was the best of the bunch

Primrose 1

If anyone were to accuse me of favouring the Primrose amongst the early flowers, I would have to own up to it.

Primrose 2

Forget-me-nots

Forget-me-nots, the first I’ve seen this season.

Forget-me-nots 2

And the Forget-me-not is another of my favourites

About crimsonprose

After years as a multi-colour octopus in entertainment, now chilling and writing
This entry was posted in Photos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Too High, Too Low, Across the Water, Amid the Nettles

  1. Brian Bixby says:

    The forget-me-not and first wild plum blossom shots in particular come out well.

    • crimsonprose says:

      So say I. Though I do like the birch bark. I’ve a feeling Judy will like that, too. I wasn’t out to photograph flowers that day, but to take some studies of a couple of old drainage type windmills (absent the sails). Those photos will come along soon . . . once I’ve done the accompanying map and relevant research. Meantime . . . well, I couldn’t walk right past the flowers and not click!

      • Judy says:

        I do like the birch bark…I like that red nettle image too. I think the images look very earthy and succulent if that makes sense..almost can smell the spring growth. I like em’

      • crimsonprose says:

        Even as I was taking the photo, I knew it would appeal to you. As to the Red Nettle, I took some more of that ‘dead nettle’ family, today. All very different, all just common hedgerow flowers that we tend to overlook. Yet the blossoms, close up, are quite extraordinary. I shall post them soon.

      • Judy says:

        I thought with the natural lighting they looked really 3D

      • crimsonprose says:

        I am pleased with those nettles. Unlike the stinging variety, they have a soft, kinda woolly leaf. In some of the close-up I took today you can really see every fine hair, not only on the leaf but on the flowers too. I really want to get them posted asap, but I have others waiting . . . time is piling up: too much to do, and everything seems to take so long.

      • Judy says:

        Everything I do seems to take so long too. You write quickly and that amazes me. Lynda is quick too.

      • crimsonprose says:

        But having said that, I’m currently held up on Chapter 4 of the next story cos I’ve got side-tracked onto other projects. I know there’s no hurry, since C.O.W. will run for a few weeks, and meanwhile in my head I’m writing the next few beats. But . . . frustrating. I try to work in the evening, but my eyes don’t focus so good when I start to get tired. If I’ve been processing photos, and then try e.g. drawing a map (as I’ve been doing this evening) I end up with everything blurring.

      • Judy says:

        Yeah me too…I used to work the computer long hours in the evening, now I can’t seem to do that as well. Energy deficit as well as blurry eyes.

      • crimsonprose says:

        My ex had a quip for these little annoyances that come with age: “Isn’t growing old fun!” He was always delighted at his birthdays, for having lived another year. Alas, he didn’t make it beyond 62. But even then, he considered that many years a triumph (yes, he knew he was dying and he was okay with it).

      • Judy says:

        Yeah aging isn’t for sissies as they say!!Now I understand what they meant about youth being wasted on the young too!!

      • crimsonprose says:

        Don’t know about you, but I know for a certainty that my mind isn’t half as old as my body! And I certainly have NOT lived all those years. Okay, so having CFS lost me a few. And a couple of bad relationships lost me some more. But really, am I really as old as my body wants me to be? But the head wants to acknowledge only half that amount. At most.

  2. Joy Pixley says:

    Gorgeous! That *is* a fun toy you have! The flowers are lovely, and I especially like the interesting patterns on the birch bark.

    • crimsonprose says:

      For every 3. 300 ditched! But after the initial investment, it’s a lot-lot cheaper than the old-school hard-copy film. And I was just as ‘snap-happy’ with that. No, the phone-camera saw me through for a while, but it was restrictive in what it could do. And, of course, now I just want to be out all the time, clicking. And now the flowers are beginning to appear . . . There’s just so much you can do with reeds and marshes. And I’m glad you like the birch bark. I would say that’s a very fine photo. 🙂

      • Joy Pixley says:

        I am definitely more snap-happy with my digital camera than I ever was with the old-fashioned ones – but that’s just with taking travel photos. My mom takes more artistic photos, mostly of flowers and landscapes (she says the birds refuse to pose properly) that she can use for inspiration in her wood engravings.

      • crimsonprose says:

        Birds and butterflies, they are the challenge. And to capture the feel of a place: woodland, marshes, gently rolling English landscapes. But I keep coming back to trees. I can’t say they don’t move. The wind certainly ruffles them. But I’ve taken some fantastic trees during the bare months of winter which will, eventually, find their way onto my blog. Absent of leaves, the form of the tree is everything. Oops, you’ve started me off now . . . .

      • Joy Pixley says:

        Trees are dramatic and strong, I see why you’re drawn to them.

      • crimsonprose says:

        And they stand still! But, yea, I find many trees have extraordinary character. It’s those that I can’t resist. Of course, it could be that they’re the dwelling places of fairies and the like (at least, that’s what I thought as a child)

      • Joy Pixley says:

        And dryads. Don’t forget dryads. 🙂

      • crimsonprose says:

        And the gnomes that live beneath mossy banks. Then, of course, there are the sprites, to be found in liminal place (where sky, earth and water meet)

Leave a Reply

