Elfin Favourites

Field Found Fungi

But though I’m calling it thus I have to admit not many of these fungi were found in actual fields. More like on the verges of farm-tracks and other open-to-the-public ‘green ways’. So some of the following photos might have better qualified for last week’s woodland collection. Also, sorry folks but, not having traipsed across open fields, no liberty caps (though I do have a treat for you tomorrow.) And as before, unless I’m totally sure of it I’m giving no names.

flat-fields-01

Like elfin stepping stones these trail into the distance. Or are they elfin muffins? They have much the same form. But I wouldn’t trust them to be edible

small-fields-01

At the opposite end of the scale . . .and  you might notice here are two types of fungi. One more resembles an autumnal leaf, the other a widow’s parasol

flat-fields-03

Is this the same species as the one first shown, merely older? Best go ask the fairies, for I sure don’t know

small-fields-02

I think this is probably a waxcap. Leastwise, it looks kinda waxy. The brave soul was poking his head up through summer’s dried grasses, all on his own

small-fields-08

Fungi aren’t always easy to see. Witness this photo, with the weeny elfin head not even clearing the grasses.

flat-fields-04

These are more easily seen. And if those first fungi shown were elfin muffins, then surely these must be gnomic doughnuts

small-fields-05

And these aren’t elfin food at all. These most definitely are elfin hats

mouldy-fungi-01

I promise you I have NOT adjusted this photo in any way but to crop it. Truly, these are the colours. And I was so beguiled by this fungal oddity I had to take a second photo from a second angle.

mouldy-fungi-02

I’m calling it ‘mouldy old dough‘. For mould is the only explanation I can find for it. Yet . . . isn’t mould a fungus too?

small-fields-11

If fungi can be colloquially called various elfin caps, then here we have a collection of their straw-bonnets. Decidedly dry and brittle rather than the usual ‘fleshy’

The fungi in next few photos I can name (to a limit):
these are inkcaps . . . in varying stages of decay

inkcaps-10

Such a delicate blue . . .

inkcaps-09

Shame they don’t stay that way. I believe this is a ‘pleated inkcap’. Poisonous, of course

earth-eggs-07

The most easily identified of the inkcaps . . . the shaggy. Notice that enchanting pale-crimson cast to its lower fringing?

earth-eggs-08

And a shaggy now tinging with ink . . .

inkcaps-01

Though I won’t hazard a guess at its correct botanical name, I can say the photo probably shows two stages of growth (or rather one of growth, the other of decay)

inkcaps-02

Elfin ballerinas wearing grey-net tutus decked with grey lace. Well, that’s what it looks like to me. And, again, I have not altered the colours.

inkcaps-03

Alas, the inkcap suffers a messy death. But oh-so-aptly named

Don’t miss tomorrow’s collection of fungi photos—Earth Eggs and Brackets. With one day short of Halloween, you wouldn’t be wrong if you guessed at least one of the subjects.

About crimsonprose

After years as a multi-colour octopus in entertainment, now chilling and writing
This entry was posted in On The Door, Photos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

