This Green and Pleasant Land

Since Easter this year there’s scarcely been a week when I haven’t been out in the rurals of Norfolk, phone/camera in hand, clicking obsessively. I share with you some of those photos, the ones that to me epitomise England’s Green and Pleasant Land.

Swardeston_Watermeadow_05_16

Swardeston Watermeadow in May

Willows Swardeston Watermeadows 05 16

Willows (Swardeston) with a right inclination

Tree_in_a_Saxlingham_lane_05_16

A (former) coppiced tree in a shady lane on the outskirts of Saxlingham Thorpe . . . in May

Broad Slough Saxlingham 06 16

Broad Slough close to where it enters the Tas at Saxlingham Thorpe . . .in June

Broken Tree Smockmill Common 06 16

A broken branch refusing to give up its life–Smockmill Common, Saxlingham Thorpe (June)

Buttercup meadow Shotesham 06 16

Corn buttercups, now quite rare, are cover for the more common orchid in this meadow (somewhere) in Shotesham (June)

Shotesham Common 06 16

Shotesham common on a hot June day

Rolling Fields of Rockland 06 16

The rolling fields of Rockland . . . and June soon will be out

A Handy Tree 06 16

A ‘handy’ tree met on the way to Surlingham (June)

Bus Shelter at Surlinghan Common

I think it’s a bus shelter yet it was in the midst of nowhere, not a house in sight . . . Surlingham (June)

Daisies Kirby Chruchyard 06 16

Pushing up daisies in the churchyard at Kirby Bedon (June)

A Grain Field Lothingland 07 16

Early July and the grain is rapidly ripening in this field in Lothingland (between Lowestoft and Gt Yarmouth)

Damsel Flies 07 16

Alongside a footpath alongside a ‘wet’ woodland alongside the River Waveney, I managed to capture this pair of delicate damsel-flies as they finally took a rest on a bramble leaf (July)

 

Hedgerow Geraniums 07 16

The delicate pink flowers of hedgerow geraniums (July)

Way Marker Yelverton 07 16

Is it a wonder I sometimes get lost on my rambles; Would you notice this way-marker at Yelverton? ( July)

Meadowsweet Alpington 07 16

Meadowsweet growing alongside a footpath at Alpington. Usually it’s a rich creamy colour, but I love this pinky/rusty tinge .(July)

Lone Pine Poringland 07 17

I’m not keen on conifers, they’re no longer native to Norfolk. But this lone pine at Poringland was such an eye-catching specimen I had to click it (July)

Hay meadows Poringland 07 16

Hay meadows . . . they fill the socks and shoes with nasty sharp bits. So I was going to sit at the edge of an old gravel pit I encountered just after this, and de-prickle my footware . . . only to be told by a local ‘that’s a snake-pit.’ Adders, apparently, abounded there, undisturbed. Ho-hum. These snakes are supposed to be rare in England, to which I say ‘come walk with me and I’ll show you plenty.’ (Poringland, July)

Poppies Upper Stoke 07 16

And here’s me doing my Claude Monet thing . . , absent the lady and child (Upper Stoke, July)

River Yare Whitlingham 07 16

River Yare at Whitlingham on the outskirts of Norwich (July)

Beech Tree Whitlingham 07 16

A big-mama beech tree cresting a hill at Whitlingham, July

Burdock

Burdock, from which is made the ultimate English cordial: Dandelion and Burdock. An acquired taste, I am told. (July)

Fairfield Lane Tasburgh 07 16

Fairfield Lane, heading out of Tasburgh; to me an archetypal rural Norfolk view. (July)

Grain Grass Sky Hempnall 07 16

Grain, grass and sky edging the lane at Hempnall . . . though this failed to capture the extraordinary luminosity of the sun streaming through the stalks (July)

Bindweed

Bindweed, a beautiful wild scrambler, the bane of every gardener, impossible to eradicate. (July)

Such a small selection from my hamper full of photos, and exceedingly difficult to decide which to include. There are still sufficient to fill another ten or more photo-blogs. Perhaps come the barren months of winter they’ll help to bring sunshine into our lives?

About crimsonprose

After years as a multi-colour octopus in entertainment, now chilling and writing
This entry was posted in On The Door, Photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to This Green and Pleasant Land

  1. Judy says:

    And a gorgeous selection it is. All lovely and some even more spectacular. You really deserve a proper camera … You’ve a great eye. Ah and England has its green mansions for sure. Beautiful country.

    • crimsonprose says:

      I thank you, Judy, on all counts. And yes, I really ought to get a camera. But isn’t there always something else more pressing . . . though admittedly with me it tends to be books!

  2. Brian Bixby says:

    That’s quite a pine, must be a fairy bus stop, and you did catch the luminosity in the very last photo!

    • crimsonprose says:

      That pine must rate as my favourite photo. And while on some of the others needed adjusting (too light, sun too bright) that one was exactly right: no touch up. As to the shelter, I thought it might have been a gnome’s holiday home. And yes, that bindweed really does show it. The hedges are now smothered in the white flowers, everywhere you look, bindweed. But it really is troublesome when it invades a garden. Impossible to eradicate as a microscopic remnant of root will again shoot.But beautiful when in its rightful place.

      • Brian Bixby says:

        I have a similar attitude to Japanese knotweed, aka false bamboo. The mature tree is a nice ornamental. But it is exceptionally ugly in its earlier stages, and it propagates far too easily through its root system.

      • crimsonprose says:

        Yes, I have heard that of the Japanese knotweed. Is that the one they call the Mile-A-Minute plant? Great for hiding eyesores in the garden, not so great to great rid off. Myself, I only have snails to get rid of, but in the past I have tangled with bindweed, and creeping thistle (evidence of the garden being cut out of former pasture-land…in fact, former ‘common’.)

  3. Joy Pixley says:

    I can see why you’d want to get out there and stroll, and also why you’d take so many photos — so gorgeous and bucolic, I love it! Well, all except the part about snakes, that is. I’m impressed that you know the names for so many of those plants. I’m terrible at remembering them, even if I manage to learn them once, which I normally don’t. That shot of the pine really is spectacular.

    • crimsonprose says:

      When I was a child I was given the entire collection of the Flower Fairy books. Being a mostly ‘bookish’ and periodically solitary creature, I used said books to identify the plants I came across on my wanders. Since I lived close to woodland, and pastures, with soil ranging from sandy through chalky to marshland-silt, I encountered a wide range of plants. I can’t say the names of all have stayed with me. And sometimes I think I know the name, but on looking it up I’m wrong. As to the snakes, truly they are rare in this country, and usually they dart away at the slightest sound. But early and late season, when being cold-blooded creatures, they are sluggish, they tend to continue to bask and then hiss out a warning just as your foot is poised above them. It startles you out of your skin. And you slowly withdraw your foot while said creature slowly slithers away. [And this description is brought to you by someone who, until recently, was definitely snake-phobic! I’ve learned to cope.] And thanks for the comment on the pine . . . though maybe we ought to thank the pine for being just perfect. 🙂

      • Joy Pixley says:

        I used to know the names of more plants around Michigan (where I grew up) from when I went to summer camp and out camping with Girl Scouts. But I’ve forgotten most of those, and have all new plants here in CA. Besides, most of the plants we learned then were which ones were poisonous, to avoid! I’m not especially phobic of snakes, but I don’t like the idea of stepping on one!

      • crimsonprose says:

        That last thing (of stepping on snakes): I don’t like the notion of that either. I now keep my eyes on the path ahead, and don’t wander off into tractless wastes where a lazy reptile might be basking.

      • Joy Pixley says:

        That strategy sounds like it’s win-win for you *and* the snakes. 🙂

      • crimsonprose says:

        Not wanting to be bitten [would probably require air-ambulance rescue & treatment]; and the snake not wanting to be stood on, nor to waste its venom on an animal far too big for it to eat . . . it’s the only way. Well, other than to stay out of its territory–which is not going to happen.

      • Joy Pixley says:

        Oh goodness, are they poisonous snakes? I didn’t catch that part. Definitely scarier that way (shiver).

      • crimsonprose says:

        Yea, I’m talking adders: members of the viper family. Not the most venomous of their genus but enough to cause distress. Dogs are more likely to die of the bite, and children, than adults. I used the details and complications of its venom in Alsalda when I had one of the characters shot in the leg by a venom-tipped arrow. Unable to remove it, the leg swelled, and closed around the arrowhead. By rights, gangrene ought to have set in, but she reached help in time . . . but not before she had sweated, and vomited, and had a raging headache, become delirious . . . all those things that are so inconvenient if you’re bitten when out in the wilds! 🙂

      • Joy Pixley says:

        Eep! Yes, definitely something to be avoided especially, as you say, out by yourself in the wilds.

      • crimsonprose says:

        But I’m walking, eyes ahead, unlike one of my friends who was camping in Scotland. In the morning, he wriggled out of his sleeping bag and shook it before rolling it up . . . and out fell an adder. It had snuggled up to him during the night for the warmth. Needless to say, he freaked! Had it been me they’d have had to ship me off to mental rehab. I’d have been a trembling mess. Wow, just to think of it. And yet it proves a point. These snakes might be lethally venomous, but they don’t like to bite. Think of it: that’s like their dinner money gone for the next 24 hours.

      • Joy Pixley says:

        Oh, that would have creeped me out too! But you’re right that they don’t get anything out of wasting their venom on you — what a great analogy to say it’s their dinner money!

      • crimsonprose says:

        It just seemed apt. But that’s why we’re writers, weavers of stories, not weavers of wool, linen and stuff. Isn’t it.

Leave a Reply

