Trees #1

I like trees. I like taking photos of trees. As I noted in Reflections, trees don’t fly off, or get uppity cos you’re taking too long to compose the shot. Trees . . .  just are.

Here are some of my favourites, encountered while walking in the ‘wilds’ of Norfolk (England, that is) . . . .

Tree 1

A youngster, alone in the woods . . .

Tree 4

And an oldster . . .

Tree 6

Actually, I mostly take studies of old trees. They are more characterful.

Tree 5

And I’ve purposely made it so you have to scroll down, to slowly reveal the whole of the tree. It’s usually around the base that tree displays the most character.

Tree 2

See what I mean . . . a most interesting part of this tree.

Tree 3

And though I only discovered this one this week it’s already a firm favourite.
I imagine it dancing, raising its arms to the sky in worship . . .

And talking of worship . . . something different.

Church ruins

These church ruins (last used in C16th) look almost ethereal, surrounded by the burst of new life on the trees and the ground.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this taste of the English countryside.
A shame I couldn’t encapsulate the smell which at this time of the year is truly divine.

 

 

 

About crimsonprose

After years as a multi-colour octopus in entertainment, now chilling and writing
This entry was posted in On The Door, Photos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Trees #1

    • crimsonprose says:

      I’ve not seen any since I was a child. Do you think they still reside in England or, like the Celts, have fled to the west? Plenty of wood elves though!

      • Brian Bixby says:

        I would think that, like trees, they tend to stay in one place if possible.

      • crimsonprose says:

        So do you think they merely changed their names . . . you know, with the incoming Saxons?

      • Brian Bixby says:

        Probably a cultural lag, waited a century or two to see if the Saxons would stick around. Wonder how many guessed wrong and thought Norman French would dominate England.

      • crimsonprose says:

        I doubt they’d have been alone in that. The archetypal aliens, arriving in southern England c.1120 would have expected to return, say C21st, to find the English parlez-ing francais—not to mention the Americans too. Oh what a different world that would be. All that gender-stuff. But think of the potential for stand-up comedians.

      • Brian Bixby says:

        I’m told the most recent revision to a Portuguese dictionary took into account the fact that there are more native speakers of the language in Brazil than Portugal. Just imagine the French seeing their language standard set by a bunch of semi-literate Saxons across the Channel and their colonial bastards.

      • crimsonprose says:

        And now I’m really grinning. What, we’re not even allowed English words in their dictionaries . . . although I do believe they’re creeping in (there’s one sit beside me yet I haven’t thought to check.) As for the Portuguese, a fair number of those now reside in England. A very nice version lives next door. Either that or she’s a wood elf!

Leave a Reply

