Light

Light FF Supplement

Light, my light, the world-filling light,
the eye-kissing light,
heart-sweetening light!

Ah, the light dances, my darling, at the centre of my life;
the light strikes, my darling, the chords of my love;
the sky opens, the wind runs wild, laughter passes over the earth.

The butterflies spread their sails on the sea of light.
Lilies and jasmines surge up on the crest of the waves of light.

The light is shattered into gold on every cloud, my darling,
and it scatters gems in profusion.

Mirth spreads from leaf to leaf, my darling,
and gladness without measure.
The heaven’s river has drowned its banks
and the flood of joy is abroad.

Rabindranath Tagore (1861-1941)
aka Gurudev


Tagore  was a Bengali polymath, credited with reshaping Bengali literature and music with Contextual Modernism. Perhaps best known for his Gitanjali, described as ‘profoundly sensitive, fresh and beautiful verse’, Tagore became the first non-European to win the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1913. Yet Tagore’s poetry, elegant, spiritual, magical, remains largely unknown outside Bengal.

Want to know more; read more of his poetry? Check out wiki’s article, Rabindranath Tagore

About crimsonprose

After years as a multi-colour octopus in entertainment, now chilling and writing
This entry was posted in Feast Fables, On The Door and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Light

  1. Judy says:

    At first I thought Tagore was one of your character names!! I really do like the poem as you can as a reader feel full of the surge of joy spilling over everything is such a glorious way. Like a spring day full of promise and life spilling with golden beams everywhere. He sounds so happy!! A new poet for me … definitely have not encountered him before. Fresh is a good word.

    • crimsonprose says:

      There are many of these ‘lesser known’ poets that I like, particularly with a spiritual cast to them. But I picked this one, and this particular poem because it fits so well with today’s Feast Fables post: i.e. Kerrid is the Light. But also I wanted to introduce the idea of spiritual poems (rather than my quick rhymes) so that the one I’m going to use as a kind of preface to The Chronicles of Mideer won’t come as too much of a shock to my readers.

      • Brian Bixby says:

        This is what comes from reading reference books as a teenager: Tagore’s name and his status as a Nobel Prize recipient were familiar. His actual poetry, not so. So this is a delight, and does so definitely fit with Feast Fables. 🙂 🙂

      • crimsonprose says:

        It has proved a rather popular choice of poem. I had remembered reading it, but I’m terrible for remembering names, and since I knew it was just the thing for FF & Kerrid I had to go hunt for it. Well worth it.

Leave a Reply

