Drat!

It's the beansNo more coffee they are saying
And, Oh please, I am praying
But they say another brew
Isn’t good for you
For me it is disaster
(Climb the walls, rake the plaster)
Saying I can’t have it
I’ll just create a havoc

And it plainly isn’t fair
It’s not like it’s another beer
Just a coffee, all I’m saying
Stops my wits from finally fraying
Cos the roasted beans I’m craving
Has me singing, winging, playing
But still they’re saying … No!

Drat and double drat it!

About crimsonprose

After years as a multi-colour octopus in entertainment, now chilling and writing
This entry was posted in On The Door, Silly Rhymes, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Drat!

  1. Brian Bixby says:

    They’re hoping that without the caffeine, you won’t be able to get angry enough to complain.

    And on the “it’s not an addiction” message, the following: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CRm1yqSmsGY

    • crimsonprose says:

      Sorry I delayed in getting back to you; became addicted to the YouTube link. Though, truth, of all the addictive substances I have quit these past 10 years, it was the one GP-prescribed that I was really addicted to you. Hmm, ok, coffee too. The last job I had, my colleagues stuck a big sign of the wall not to allow me more than 2 cups a day, otherwise no one got any work done, cos I’d entertain them. Well, I am ex-theatre!

  2. Judy says:

    Ain’t it the truth!! But, I go by what I read a long time ago that coffee is the only beneficial addiction. A mild upper which actually does make people more productive. Caveat of course, don’t overdo it as caffeine can overstimulate the endocrine system, raise blood sugar and dump it back down, and stuff like that. I too need to scale back and try and do ONE mug per day!! But, hate to give up that one.

    • crimsonprose says:

      One mug? I do try to limit to 5. Preferably only 3. But I find the more I cut down, the stronger I make the brew. And I buy the strongest possible. But I was really good with it when reversing the diabetes. I kept it to 3. Yes, I am addicted. I gave it up once (about 15 years ago). 4th day, headache from hell (and I was used to migraines). Ho-hum.

      • Brian Bixby says:

        Tough customers, you two. I’ve never been able to do more than two cups of coffee a day before it starts making me a wreck. Must be that nervous temperament of mine. 😦

      • crimsonprose says:

        Ah, but see, I’d argue it’s not the substance I’m addicted to, but the effects. I LIKE being gggGGGGGRRRRR!. I love the energy charge. The drive. Don’t forget, for 15 years (8 at severe level) I was basically all charged out. Now I’ve the energy back . . . yea, I’m in danger of being just as hyper as I was before CFS cut me off at the brain. So I dance. I run (but not along the seafront in the freezing fog cos I have asthma and the freezing air destroys my lungs so I end up with bronchitis..yes, Mr Dr-Man, I shall obey).

      • Judy says:

        Ok well, I do at least 3, trying to scale back to1. A mug is probably 2 cups anyhow. I say this as I write at 1:42pm sipping coffee!! I gave it up for awhile using green tea to fill in some of the caffeine gap to help control the inevitable headache period. That did not last though. But, for all of us especially as you get older, it is probably best to figure out what your best limit is depending on your body’s reaction to caffeine. But, heeding my own advice…..well working on it!! Might eliminate the need for Sleepytime Tea at night if I got smart!! Big sigh……

      • crimsonprose says:

        I never (seldom) drink coffee after 3pm–my assurance of being able to sleep come bedtime. I alternate coffee with either peppermint tea (well brewed) and redbush tea. I have never had a liking for china/indian tea, black, green or white–but especially not black. Oh, and I also concoct my own brew from fresh ginger, cinnamon bark and cloves. Very warming in the winter. But I have to watch the level of ginger consumption, especially if I’m off for a 10 mile hike, as ginger is worse than caffeine as a diuretic.

      • Judy says:

        Hmmm that explains something!! I’ve been drinking Ginger Lemon tea lately and consuming some crystallized ginger too. Always have loved Ginger for the taste and the lovely warmth it has.But, I am new to drinking the tea.

      • crimsonprose says:

        I use root ginger a lot in cooking–stir-frys & stuff. I can’t use commercial mixes because, invariably, they contain gluten. And it only takes a sniff to get me a free colonic irrigation, and body that feels like a train has hit it (and carried it along for at least a mile).

      • Judy says:

        Perhaps time for me to experiment and try some new dishes with ginger in mind. I have been actively utilizing more turmeric and cumin in my cooking for the many benefits including its good effects on controlling blood sugar. I believe that ginger is in the same family as turmeric.

      • crimsonprose says:

        Indeed. It was for its ability to control/stabilise the blood sugars that I first started using it. Now I just love the taste, the freshness and tang. Lovely. Makes wonderful Indonesian-style cooking. Use coconut oil, too. And add in fresh pineapple . . . now I’m making myself hungry and I’ve not long eaten.

      • crimsonprose says:

        Yea, but I’m on the wind-down to bed. Oh well, some pistachios will take off the edge without disturbing things too much.

Leave a Reply

