Broken

(image: www.glogster.com)

A broken house and a broken life
Of a broken man with a long-lost wife

The springs of bed and sofa’ve sprung
The stair-rods all are fitted wrong
Around the table chairs are chipt
The carpets all are rucked and slipt

The garden’s unkempt
The fences bent
The windows are grubby
(The cat is tubby)
In the bathroom:
The toilet seat’s loose and moves about
The tiles are skewed for want of grout
In the kitchen:
One hob-ring only works
In the larder:
Fungi and black-mould lurks

But what’s in the old man’s broken heart
Are memories too dear to ever depart.

About crimsonprose

After years as a multi-colour octopus in entertainment, now chilling and writing
This entry was posted in Silly Rhymes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Broken

  1. Judy says:

    I really love this little sweet little poem!! Really nice and touching!! 🙂

    • crimsonprose says:

      Result of enforced leisure. RSI prevents my usual level of keyboard work. Brain cogitates instead. That’s how come the abounding inspiration when I was couch-bound with ME, and why it seems to have departed me since. Not that I’m thinking of repeating the hand-injury any time soon, not for any amount of inspiration. Even typing this reply is causing pain. (wimp that I am.)

      • Judy says:

        Perhaps a haiku….many less syllables!! or typing!!! 🙂

      • crimsonprose says:

        I think the delete-key is the culprit. But for now I’m holding my hand at an unnatural angle and that’s pulling the muscles all along my arm. Ho-hum. Rest. Rest. Rest. Pass me another book, please.

      • Judy says:

        I am there with you! Right now I am weary of the computer and even more weary dealing with my new hearing aids. So I am reading a book by Jimmy Buffett. I didn’t even know he wrote books. It was in a pile a friend was giving away. It’s called ‘A Salty Piece of Land’ and is actually quite charming. Story about a Wyoming cowboy an a 100 yo schooner captain named Cleopatra looking for a Fresnel lens fir an old lighthouse….among a bunch of other happenings along the way!! I think that will be my next hour.

      • crimsonprose says:

        Knowing your interests I’d say that’s an ideal book for you. My current focus is whodunnits, preferably with historical setting.

  2. Judy says:

    Feel free to fix my typos! Never mind….save your fingers…..go read!!!!! 🙂

  3. Brian Bixby says:

    This is apt for my personal situation, or rather my mother’s. Lay off the keyboard, CP. I’m still recovering from the arm injury I got typing last Halloween’s horror story.

    • crimsonprose says:

      I’m trying to rest it. It was caused by the Le Retz series I’m preparing for Crimson’s History. I’m impatient to have sufficient prepared to start posting but . . . now it must wait yet longer. In the meantime I’m keeping just to the fictions. But, as I remarked to Judy, at least the enforced break has again opened me to inspired (of the silly rhyme type). BTW the broken house was inspired by my own. It seems everything in it and about it has some kind of imperfection—-probably a reflection of myself. Lo! My hand. Though I certainly don’t identify with the old man.

Leave a Reply

