Alas, Old Friend

FoAlas Old Friendr fifty years it has stood firm
Of late is has grown long
A guard of slips and unwise gushes
A guard of words said wrong

But now has come its sad demise
Cracked and sheered above the root
Clamped, twisted, tussled, wrested
The dentist says it must come out.

 

. . . on overhearing a neighbour’s lament.

About crimsonprose

After years as a multi-colour octopus in entertainment, now chilling and writing
This entry was posted in Silly Rhymes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Alas, Old Friend

  1. Brian Bixby says:

    My depression is compounded by knowing I need to see a dentist soon, too.

    • crimsonprose says:

      Actually, the lament was overheard while in the dentist’s waiting room. And it amused me. Good luck with your appointment. I have this way to soothe my nerves and cheer me up. No matter what the dentist may do to me it’ll never be as bad as medieval torture. 🙂 I told my dentist that. She laughed.

  2. Judy says:

    Well in civilized life, the closest we may come to medieval torture is enduring tooth pain. I classify the tooth pain that resulted in two root canals the most miserable of my life….will bring you to your knees for sure!! But, still, I hope they stand in place ’til the end!!

    • crimsonprose says:

      A few years back I had post-extraction infection. And it hit on a Friday night, with no dentists open until Monday morning. Even the GP surgeries were closed and I felt disinclined to present at A&E. It was the worst pain ever. I kept wanting to walk away from it, but whatever you do it’s always there. I now keep clove oil on hand. In case.

  3. LittleFears says:

    Ooo it has been a long time scince I needed an extraction. I too hope mine stay to the end, even if they are over sized and not that white. 🙂

Leave a Reply

