Thrigg Brunna

a picture paints a thousand words . . .

. . . and maps describe what words cannot. So here, to accompany this week’s episode of Neve’: Arthur’s Sleep . . . here I offer a map.

Map of Thrigg BrunnaThough some of these features you’ll find on Google Maps, most exist only on the e-pages of Neve, and in my head. It was here that I spent my childhood days (see Lady In Green); here that I fell in love with Count Alan of Richmond; here that I nearly fell down a well!

I regret I cannot show the contours. For, though Norfolk is famously flat, this is a relatively ‘hilly’ place, with a long ridge of sand and shingle (glacial deposits) extending between the two rivers. And Norwich itself has some (quaint) steep hills.

About crimsonprose

After years as a multi-colour octopus in entertainment, now chilling and writing
This entry was posted in Neve and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thrigg Brunna

  1. Brian Bixby says:

    And I recognized a few more place names from your youth and history when I went to Google maps. Had to use the map setting at first, as opposed to satellite, to orient myself with the watercourses.

    • crimsonprose says:

      As I said, a blend of fact and fiction. When I began writing Neve I was undecided whether to set it in real places or fictional. Where Costessey Hall once stood (starting point of the Jerningham posts) now is a golf course, the woods around it grubbed up for the treasure beneath. Neve’s lament is my own. As I’ve said before, I had come upon Dowsingham on a very old map. And there was no coastal town that equated to Yalesham. So construct one, construct them all. Yet these places still need to exist in a real landscape; they need pinning down.
      And by the way, what isn’t marked on Google but whic you might be able to find, is Costessey Henge. It’s never been excavated, is known only through aerial photography, but is thought to date to late Neolithic. It sits at the confluence of the rivers Tud and Wensum (the Linn and Renegale on my map. Renegale is formed on the Saxon for boundary, Linn being a stream thick with rushes. The names are not drawn from my head but are correctly formed on the local version of Anglo-Saxon with heavy helpings of Dane).

    • crimsonprose says:

      And I ought to have said that for most authors their first ‘work’ is to some degree autobiographical. There is much in Neve that could qualify as that: certainly the setting; I spent much time with my grandmother, who did live in ‘the sticks’, no running water, a walk to the well before breakfast; I did go to boarding school; my grandfather, though not Romany, as a horse-dealer attending the horse-fairs, travelled much with the gypsies, was great friends with some; I, like Neve, have a deep abiding interest in medieval history; and with dressmaking skills that eked out my pocket-money before I ever left school, you could say we share that. But there the likenesses stop. Oh, not quite true. I did spend much of my youth on the backs of motorbikes, so that might explain Rat- but, alas, no Rat in my life; I ought to have said of the music too, but with a career in the theatre, you can take that as given.

  2. Brian Bixby says:

    Ah, and having now read the chapter, more references make sense. I did find a circle near the confluence of the two rivers, but it doesn’t quite match up with the description of the location, between the Tud and a disused railroad.

    Hard to avoid autobiography, as what else do we know best? And yours is colorful, certainly. It has worked well to support Neve.

    My own past is less colorful. So, the closest you’ve seen on my blog to the places of my youth is Stockbridge, which is 130 miles or so from where I grew up, and which I probably didn’t visit until my teens.

    • crimsonprose says:

      It could be the right circle. It’s not easily seen. On the ground it’s invisible – or at least, I’ve never seen it. There are 2 Bronze Age ring-circles too, at unspecified location. I know where one is, but if Norfolk Arch. Society is holding back on it, so must I.
      In reference to using ‘colourful’ background, when I was at the threatre many visiting crews (light and sound ops, road managers etc) knowing I wrote, tried urging me to write of the ‘goings on’ at the theatre. It certainly would make a good sit-com, but I’m not up to it (I did try).
      And you say of your past, yet there were college days, and even if you weren’t in the thick of the actions, I’m sure you’ve some stories. And didn’t you say of your childhood associations with cemeteries . . . and look what you write. Yea, I’d say your past is there in what you write.

Leave a Reply

